National Conference on Topology, Analysis, Algebra and Their Application Inaugurated at SMVD

08032017 math conf01

08032017 math confSMVDU Katra: A UGC sponsored National Conference on Topology, Analysis, Algebra and Their Application organized by Department of Mathematics is inaugurated on 7th March, 2017 at Matrika Auditorium of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University, Katra. At the very outset Dr. A. K. Das, Convener of the conference welcomed all guests, participants and explained about the theme of the conference. Dr. V. K. Saraswat, Member, NITI Aayog was the Chief Guest on the occasion. Dr. Saraswat in his Inaugural address stressed upon the value added and sustainable research and developments. He advised the students of SMVDU to work on innovations in order to counter the future challenges like food security water security etc. Dr. Sanjeev Jain, the Vice Chancellor of SMVDU apprised the guests and delegates that University is marching ahead with a vision of technology based innovations. He also advised students and faculty members of the University to contribute in all possible manners so that the University can move forward towards on the path of excellence. The Guest of Honour of the ceremony was Prof. Satya Deo, Harish Chander Research University, Allahabad. Prof Satya Deo explained the direct and indirect applications of pure mathematics such as Topology, Analysis and Algebra in Technology and other Sciences. Prof. V. K. Bhat, Dean, Faculty of Sciences emphasized the importance of mathematics in other branches of Science. The inaugural session was ended by the vote of thanks delivered by Dr. Kuldip Raj, Organizing Secretary of the conference. The Conference was organized in association with Jammu Mathematical Society. Prof D.S. Jamwal, President of Jammu Mathematical Society was present in the Inaugural Ceremony. Organizing Committee members Dr. Sandeep Bhougal, Dr. Ajay Sharma, Dr. Surender Singh and Dr. Sandeep Sharma were present. Prof. H. N. Ramaswamy, University of Mysore, Prof. Anima Nagar, IIT Delhi, Prof. Rais Ahemad, AMU, Aligarh, Prof. K.S. Charak, University of Jammu, Prof. V. Verma, Dean Faculty of Engineering, Heads of various Departments and many faculty members of the University were also present on the occasion.